InReview InReview

Support independent journalism

Books & Poetry

Women lead Miles Franklin shortlist

Books & Poetry

Comments Print article

Female authors dominate this year’s shortlist for the Miles Franklin Literary Award.

Continuing the gender turnaround of the award in recent years, four of the five shortlisted novels announced yesterday at the Australian Booksellers Association Conference at State Library Victoria are by women.

The list comprises Sonya Hartnett’s Golden Boys (Penguin Books Australia), Sofie Laguna’s The Eye of the Sheep (Allen & Unwin), Joan London’s The Golden Age (Random House Australia), Christine Piper’s After Darkness (Allen & Unwin) and Craig Sherborne’s Tree Palace (Text Publishing).

Harnett and London have both previously been shortlisted for the prize, while Laguna made the longlist in 2012. Laguna and London’s books were also shortlisted for this year’s Stella Prize, which is open only to women authors.

“The 2015 Miles Franklin shortlist presents a powerful group of Australian novels with a rich cast of unforgettable characters, and themes ranging from childhood gangs and domestic violence to itinerant thieves, wartime internment and the post-war polio epidemic,” said judging panel spokesperson Richard Neville, State Library of NSW Mitchell librarian.

Each of the 2015 shortlisted authors will receive $5000, while the overall winner, to be announced on June 23, will receive the $60,000 in prize money.

The Miles Franklin prizes is awarded to a novel judged as being “of the highest literary merit” and which presents “Australian life in any of its phases”.

Female authors have won the prize for the past three years. Last year’s winner was Evie Wyld, with All the Birds Singing, in 2013 it was Michelle de Kretser, with Questions of Travel, and in 2012 Anna Funder’s All That I Am scooped the prize.

The 2015 Miles Franklin longlist also included Omar Musa (Here Come the Dogs), Favel Parrett (When the Night Comes), Suzanne McCourt (The Lost Child), Elizabeth Harrower (In Certain Circles) and Inga  Simpson (Nest).


Make a comment View comment guidelines

Support local arts journalism

Your support will help us continue the important work of InReview in publishing free professional journalism that celebrates, interrogates and amplifies arts and culture in South Australia.

Donate Here


Show comments Hide comments
Will my comment be published? Read the guidelines.

. You are free to republish the text and graphics contained in this article online and in print, on the condition that you follow our republishing guidelines.

You must attribute the author and note prominently that the article was originally published by InReview.  You must also inlude a link to InReview. Please note that images are not generally included in this creative commons licence as in most cases we are not the copyright owner. However, if the image has an InReview photographer credit or is marked as “supplied”, you are free to republish it with the appropriate credits.

We recommend you set the canonical link of this content to to insure that your SEO is not penalised.

Copied to Clipboard

More Books & Poetry stories

Loading next article