InReview InReview

Support independent journalism

Books & Poetry

Atwood and British author Evaristo share 2019 Booker Prize

Books & Poetry

Canadian writer Margaret Atwood and British author Bernardine Evaristo have split the Booker Prize after the judging panel ripped up the rule book and refused to name one winner for the prestigious fiction trophy.

Print article

Chairman Peter Florence said the five judges simply couldn’t choose between Atwood’s dystopian thriller The Testaments and Evaristo’s kaleidoscope of black women’s stories, Girl, Woman, Other.

Partly inspired by the environmental protesters of Extinction Rebellion, who were demonstrating near the prize ceremony’s venue in London’s financial district, Florence said the judges refused to back down when told the rules prohibit more than one winner.

“Our consensus was that it was our decision to flout the rules,” he said.

“I think laws are inviolable and rules are adaptable to the circumstance.”

Prize organisers didn’t see it that way.

Gaby Wood, literary director of the Booker Prize Foundation, said prize trustees repeatedly told the judges they couldn’t have two winners, but they “essentially staged a sit-in in the judging room” as deliberations dragged on for five hours. Wood insisted the decision “doesn’t set a precedent”.

It means Atwood and Evaristo will split the STG50,000 ($A92,800) Booker Prize purse.

Florence said both of the winning books “address the world today and give us insights into it and create characters that resonate with us”.

“They also happen to be wonderfully compelling page-turning thrillers,” he added.

Atwood, who won the Booker in 2000 for The Blind Assassin, had been the bookmakers’ favourite to win the coveted trophy for a second time with her follow-up to The Handmaid’s Tale.

Like that book – now a hit TV series – The Testaments is set in Gilead, a theocratic republic taken root in the United States, where young women are forced to bear children for powerful men.

Florence, founder of the Hay literary festival, said Atwood’s novel “does massively more” than just continue the story started in The Handmaid’s Tale.

“It’s beautiful in its depth and exploration of the world of Gilead,” he said.

“It might have looked like science fiction back in the day. Now it looks more politically urgent than ever before.”

Atwood, 79, is the oldest-ever Booker winner.

Evaristo, who is of Anglo-Nigerian heritage, is the first black woman to take the trophy. She has published seven previous books but is less known than her co-winner.

Florence said he wasn’t worried Evaristo, 60, would be overlooked as people focused on Atwood. He said that “there is something utterly magical” about the 12 characters from many walks of life who narrate Girl, Woman, Other.

“They give a wonderful spectrum of black British women today,” he said.

“In that sense this book is ground-breaking – and I hope encouraging and inspiring to the rest of the publishing industry.”

Founded in 1969, the prize is open to English-language authors from around the world.

It has been split between two winners twice before, most recently in 1992, when Michael Ondaatje’s The English Patient and Barry Unsworth’s Sacred Hunger shared the trophy.

The rules were changed after that to stipulate there can only be one winner each year.

Judges chose the two winners from a six-book shortlist that included British-Turkish author Elif Shafak’s Istanbul-set 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World; US-British writer Lucy Ellmann’s stream-of-consciousness novel Ducks, Newburyport; India-born British writer Salman Rushdie’s modern-day Don Quixote story, Quichotte; and An Orchestra of Minorities, a saga of love and exile by Nigeria’s Chigozie Obioma.

The prize, which often delivers a big boost in sales and profile to the winner, was sponsored for 18 years by investment firm Man Group and was known as the Man Booker Prize.

This year it reverted to its original name, the Booker Prize, under a new sponsor, the Crankstart Foundation, founded by Silicon Valley venture capitalist Michael Moritz and his wife, writer Harriet Heyman.


Read more about several of the 2019 Man Booker Prize shortlisted novels – and other recently released books – in Adelaide writer Jo Case’s Diary of a Bookseller columns for InDaily.

Make a comment View comment guidelines

Support local arts journalism

Your support will help us continue the important work of InReview in publishing free professional journalism that celebrates, interrogates and amplifies arts and culture in South Australia.

Donate Here

. You are free to republish the text and graphics contained in this article online and in print, on the condition that you follow our republishing guidelines.

You must attribute the author and note prominently that the article was originally published by InReview.  You must also inlude a link to InReview. Please note that images are not generally included in this creative commons licence as in most cases we are not the copyright owner. However, if the image has an InReview photographer credit or is marked as “supplied”, you are free to republish it with the appropriate credits.

We recommend you set the canonical link of this content to to insure that your SEO is not penalised.

Copied to Clipboard

More Books & Poetry stories

Loading next article